Top 5 Movies I Might Watch Today If I Feel Like It

It’s Halloween and I have the day off from work. I’m obligated to watch some movies that are in the holiday spirit, am I not? Right this second I’m watching Pale Rider as part of some MacGuffin-related Clint Eastwood research. It is not a horror film (except Clint Eastwood has said his character in it, The Preacher, is pretty much a ghost. So there’s that?). Why am I watching a Western?! I need some horror! Here are my main candidates for the day:

5. A Chinese Ghost Story

Because I rented this for a roundtable possibility and then we didn’t use it (hear us talk about what we watched instead, Cemetery Man, here!). I think it is due to Scarecrow tomorrow, so I better get on it. (I am terrible about renting things that I can have for a week and then not watching them until the last second. Like, in the two hours before I have to go to store to make the 8 PM deadline.) Also, it sounds pretty sweet. “1987 Hong Kong romantic comedy horror film”? It won’t be boring, I’m sure.

4. House on Haunted Hill (1959)

Because of Netflix streaming! And because of Vincent Price! And because it is 74 minutes long, leaving me time for other filmic adventures! It also feel like a pure, “Halloween-y” movie to me. There’s nothing like a good ol’ black & white haunted house.

3. 28 Days Later…

Because I own it, I love it, it is one of my favorite films of all time, I never get tired of it, and it is just pure, great storytelling. It is one of those films where if I start thinking about it, I’ve created an itch that won’t go away until I just watch it again.

2. Paranormal Activity

Oh my god, I should not have noticed that this movie is streaming on Netflix. Because it scared me so bad the first time around, I put it on my Top 5 Great Films I’ll Never Watch Again list! And I should stay true to my word. But, it’s daytime? And I know what to expect now? Oh god no, I shouldn’t do it because nighttime will come again and I’ll still be in a place which is how all ghosts and demons get you, as evidenced in this film. Aaaarggggh.

1. Thirst

Because I have had this Chan-wook Park film on disc from Netflix since January of 2010. Not even kidding. Going on two years of anticipation with this one! And I can handle vampires, because vampires are not real. Not like the ghosts and demons that will kill me in my bed if I watch Paranormal Activity again.

May you all watch something great today, and not have nightmares tonight.

4 Responses to “Top 5 Movies I Might Watch Today If I Feel Like It”


  1. 1 Emily October 31, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    I will watch probably none of those with you, because I’m a wuss, but good list!

  2. 2 patty October 31, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    i want to see you and Alex watch paranormal activity together. comedic gold right there.

  3. 4 patty October 31, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    also, i didn’t think paranormal activity was that frightening — i slept just fine after watching it. i thought it was an interesting story, though, and i would watch it again. this is probably because my brother forced me to watch the original nightmare on elm street when i was 5, which undid all the work my dad put in when he would cover my eyes during the evening news. you know what did scare me though? that stupid remake of house of wax — paris hilton is one of the most revolting monsters i can think of.


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


