Some thoughts on pop culture, friendship, and one of my favorite people.

One of the many reasons why I believe it’s a worthy pursuit to spend so much of my precious life consuming “pop culture” is because of the way mutual love of the same movies, TV shows, and books has helped me identify those people who’ve ended up being truly important in my life. There are a lot of people out there, and it’s just not practical to issue a full compatibility test to all of them. But if you are reading a battered copy of I Capture the Castle, or wearing a t-shirt for the Dillon Panthers, or standing in line for the latest silent film they’re screening at SIFF…these are all signs I might want to get to know you better.

I have a close circle of girlfriends that came together our junior year of high school. When we’re all in town, we still always try to get together to do the very thing that helped to solidify those friendships when we were teenagers: watch Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Buffy nights were sacred back in the day. (I recall being gathered once for such a night, when a young male showed up at the doorstep to ask the hostess to the prom. He had to wait for a commercial break.) It became shorthand to refer to this particular group as the “Buffy Girls”—BGs for even shorter-hand—and we use that moniker to this day (including to distinguish ourselves come group photo time this past weekend, as we married off the first of the BGs…sniff!).

Anyway. You see, when it comes to this sort of thing, my friends and I are not messing around.

I invoke the Buffy example to set the tone for the following photographic essay in honor of one of said BGs. She and I have bonded over many a piece of pop culture, be it high brow or low. And though I do not agree with everything she loves, I’ll defend to the death her right to love it—and always seek her opinion, because it’s so much more fun to argue about these things with people whose opinions you respect, am I right?

On August 19, 1983, Rebecca Taylor Brinson was born. She lived 16 good years before meeting yours truly.


She was as blonde as Buffy! And though she did not yet dress as well (Tevas!), she has totally gotten there since.

Having grown up in a house where they watched things like Jeeves and Wooster, her sense of humor was a bit different from an average 16-year-old girl. (She would eventually introduce me to Jeeves and Wooster, and it is totally funny and awesome.)

We both liked a certain boy band. If pressed, I’m sure we both would admit to still liking a certain boy band.

She also liked some even more questionable musical groups…

…but in other ways, her tastes were quite sophisticated. (“Oh, C.K. Dexter Haaaaaaaaa-VEN!”)

And literary hotties were the best!

Although she still had a soft spot for less suave and gallant types.

New things came along that we loved together. Like…

Llama face!!!!!!!!!!

Tobias…you blow hard!

Dark times ahead, Harry…

But Riggins will help you!

We became roommates, and that meant I made her watch Smallville. She liked it, but the game where we tried to one-up each other making fun of it was even better!

“Clark! Take my Yaris! It’ll be faster!”

I would have returned the favor for Veronica Mars…but she didn’t appreciate a peanut gallery for that one as much.

I was there when she sobbed after a certain Joss Whedon character met his maker…

And in happier times, when Captain Jack and Spike kicked each other’s asses and then totally made out!

So hot.

Also hot? That time we dressed up as Betty and Veronica for Halloween.

Just yesterday, we made a reading date for our newest obsession, the last installment of which comes out Tuesday.

Because it’s true, sharing your enthusiasm for things like this is one of the best parts of having great friends.

Also, she once gave me a magnet with this picture on it:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BECCA! I LOVE YOU!

5 Responses to “Some thoughts on pop culture, friendship, and one of my favorite people.”


  1. 1 Emily August 19, 2010 at 9:00 am

    I just got all verklempt. I love both you guys. HAPPY BIRTHDAY BECCA!!!

  2. 3 Rebecca August 19, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Ah, jesus. You made me cry at work. I love you, too.

  3. 4 patty August 19, 2010 at 11:31 am

    ahhhh, this is so awesome! i love my friends!

    happy birthday, b!

  4. 5 Carly August 19, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    yay B! and, B! love to you both, and a happy birthday Becca!


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


