Emmy nominations make me feel odd…

What is this feeling? I’ve just read the list of nominations for a major awards show and I seem to be…happy? Really really happy?

Honestly folks, as someone who knows she shouldn’t care so much, but totally does care that much about my favorite projects getting award show recognition, this list is just stellar. I mean, there are always omissions due to too many worthy candidates (and yes, it does break my heart a little that Zach Gilford didn’t squeak in) but they fucking killed this thing. Highlights:

*Jim Parsons for lead actor in a comedy as Sheldon Cooper on The Big Bang Theory. He really was snubbed last year (he was nominated, but didn’t win); this performance will be a thing of sitcom legend.

*It’s too bad it ultimately had to come in the guest actress category, but it’s beautiful to see Elizabeth Mitchell get nominated for her role as Juliet Burke on LOST. Her role wasn’t as flashy, but I could argue that she gave the best performance of anyone on that show.

*Lea Michele and Chris Colfer for their roles as Rachel and Kurt on Glee. They are the main two things that keep me coming back to that show even when I find it exasperating.

*Almost the entire adult cast of Modern Family gets recognized. Too bad there wasn’t also room for Ed O’Neill, but his career in comedy is hardly just getting started like the other five. Absolutely thrilled to see that the “straight woman” nature of Julie Bowen’s role didn’t keep her out of it; that shit is much harder than it looks.

*January Jones for lead actress in a drama as Betty Draper on Mad Men. About time she was up there with Jon Hamm; he owes some of the credit for his nominations to having her stellar performance to play off of.

*For outstanding writing in a drama series, “The Son” from Friday Night Lights. Yes yes yes. This is the episode that should also have gotten Zach Gilford in the running (Matt Saracen, I will love you forever), but thank the TV gods that it is not going totally unnoticed. I watched it twice, and the experience is unreal. I should not feel this deeply for people I know to be fictional.

*And of course CONNIE BRITTON and KYLE CHANDLER for their roles as Tami and Eric Taylor on Friday Night Lights. I shrieked when I saw this. Fucking finally.

Party at my house August 29th!

4 Responses to “Emmy nominations make me feel odd…”


  1. 1 maliaann July 8, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    I’m so happy Friday Night Lights is finally getting some recognition. Love that show! It’s definitely one of the best. Thanks for recommending it.

  2. 2 patty July 10, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    if there were a category for best morning face in the emmys, kyle chandler would be a shoe-in!

    MATT SARACEN LOVE!

  3. 3 cjpansulla@gmail.com July 14, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    yeeeeeees FNL! yayayayayayay. heartily approve. also, patty, you are hilarious and correct, and why ISN’t there an emmy for best morning face?!

    also – hurray Elizabeth Mitchell, she got me to laugh out loud or start crying the most.

    Brandi, what can you tell me about Joss directing Mark Ruffalo as the Hulk?!?! I need details!

    • 4 Brandi Sperry July 15, 2010 at 12:00 am

      It is the rumor. But doesn’t M.R. seem a little dough-faced-puppy-doggy for that?? I mean, I adore him unconditionally, and I know nervousness is a trait for Bruce Banner, but I’m just not seeing it. I’m sure Joss can make anything work, though.


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


