Oh yeah! Horror movie season!

We’ve had a particularly nice beginning-of-fall here in Seattle, so even though there’s been chatter about Halloween, I haven’t really felt its approach. But the days are getting shorter, the weather has taken a turn for the dreary, and the cold, dark evenings cause me to cozy up to the Internet more and more. The result of this confluence: I’ve finally remembered that it’s the time of year to talk about horror movies here at the ol’ blog.

Technically I could say I started yesterday with my rave of Paranormal Activity. If you’ll indulge an odd segue, when I was writing that round-up of recent films, I noticed that while I sometimes give TV shows a specific grade at the end of a review, I never do for movies. Perhaps it’s because I so adore Roger Ebert, who dislikes such grades (but does provide themwith some grousingas a major film reviewer must). Yet, I’m obsessive about rating films on Netflix. I’ve tried to rate every movie I’ve ever seen (except those with no listing in Netflixa surprisingly high number. Thank you, Mac film classes and SIFF cinema). The great thing about Netflix ratings, though, is that they stand for how much you personally love or hate the movie, rather than asking for an accurate reflection of a film’s significance. Thus, I can justify giving 5 stars to my beloved Home Alone (“Loved It”, in Netflix translation) and only 3 (“Liked It”) to Woody Allen’s seminal Manhattan.

So, what does this have to do with anything, you’re asking? Here’s my idea for kicking off a series of horror-themed posts: sharing the five horror films I’ve given 5 stars to on Netflix. If this seems a rather exclusive club, it’s not, really. Anything that falls under “Classic” or “Thrillers” or “Sci Fi & Fantasy” in Netflix’s categorization system wouldn’t have popped up in my search. So, The Birds, The Exorcist, Psycho, Alien, The Thing? All eliminated.

For extra fun: I bet if you read this blog regularly, you can guess at least a few of the five. So, I’m listing them after the jump. I’ve never used the jump before! It sort of annoys me. But I’ll do it anyway, just this once.

1. Suspiria

My entrance into the mad, mad world of Dario Argento. Shivers.

2. Halloween

The original John Carpenter version, of course. Michael Meyers is still the best boogeyman ever.

3. 28 Days Later

Frightening on every possible level.

4. Shaun of the Dead

Yep, Netflix puts it as horror! Even with all that comedy, I probably put it there too. Many very effective scary scenes in there.

5. The Descent

Just a perfect horror movie. Been planning to watch this again for too long. It will happen this month. Oh yes, it will.

Watch any of these, any time. My prescription for a proper October. Yay, Halloween!

3 Responses to “Oh yeah! Horror movie season!”


  1. 1 patty October 15, 2009 at 8:50 am

    let me know when you watch the descent! i will try to wade my way through my books to see it!

  2. 2 Carly October 27, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    you didn’t love Manhattan?! i looooved Manhattan! sadly, I’m not allowed to watch horror movies anymore, because they stick in my head and literally keep me up at night. but really i wanted to respond to say – i’m caught up on friday night lights and i love your new pic and is it really airing tomorrow on cable, because that’s what i saw from a promo and that would really make my week by allowing me to not focus on hw the whole time. oh, also, i have a library-lady-date to make a double-header fashion cinema outing on friday (the September Issue, and Coco Before Chanel). i’ll let you know if it’s too much, but i think it’s going to be fizzy and aesthetically awesome. Anna Wintours is a frigid, cutting bitch, which should be excellent on the big screen.

  3. 3 Brandi Sperry October 28, 2009 at 10:32 am

    I really want to see The September Issue. Anna Wintour does scream out to be a film character (hence, The Devil Wears Prada…) Let me know how it is!


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


