Recently at the movies

Many gems out there right now.

1. Paranormal Activity

I really, really hate that title. And I really, really liked this movie. You know the film was worth your money when afterward you spend as much time as the length of it discussing it with your friends. Not only did the movie provide genuine scares, it laughed in the face of horror clichés while doing it. (The thing-appears-in-mirror’s-reflection and the why-doesn’t-anyone-believe-us are particularly well-not-served.) I’ve read a few reviews of people who didn’t like the film, complaining about the shaky cam, small cast, confined set, etc. I’m not sure what extravagance they’re expecting from an $11,000 movie, and the confined set is half the point, buuuuuuut….whatever. The one criticism I truly throw my hands up to is that not enough happens in the film. To people who think this I say: if you don’t like movies where the anticipation is a crucial part of the enjoyment, then I and Dr. Frank-N-Furter would like to tell you to please stop trying to be a horror fan and just go watch the WWE or something.

2. Whip It

What a shame that this movie tanked at the box office! Ellen Page, Alia Shawkat, Juliette Lewis, Marcia Gay Harden, Drew Barrymore, Kristen Wiig: I would have been joyful to see this cast just having fun in a bad movie. But this is not at all a bad movie. It’s full of small moments that are both offbeat and genuine, it tells a satisfying sports story in a fresh arena, it tells a satisfying coming-of-age story while remembering that the most important thing about coming of age is not necessarily getting yourself a boyfriend, as so many teen movies would have you think. Even the standard movie tropes such as the overbearing mom and the secret-football-watching dad feel dusted off and spruced up. It’s cute and fun! And those are good things.

3. Bright Star

Lovely. Lovely. Lovely. I mean, it’s Jane Campion, so you knew it would be visually lovely. But that word sticks in my head to describe everything else as well: the dialogue, the performances, the quick little cuts, the faces. The unanimous opinion of those I saw it with: this is a movie to buy and watch again and again. The best romance I have seen in ages, and so much more than a romance. A portrait of two pure people, and hopefully the springboard for even greater things for Abbie Cornish and Ben Whishaw.

4. Where the Wild Things Are

Yep, I saw it! Wham! Preview fundraiser! Cinerama! Max Records and Dave Eggers were there! It was good! And that’s all I’ll say about it for now, since I’m not sure if I’m “allowed” to blog pre-release.

And even having seen one movie that isn’t even out yet, I’m so far behind…A Serious Man? Zombieland? The Informant? I need more time!

3 Responses to “Recently at the movies”


  1. 1 patty October 12, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    1) i wish i had time to see movies! just another reason i should quit my job.

    2) oh, holy hell sweet goddamn, taylor kitsch banner. yum yum!

  2. 2 Aaron October 13, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    I recently have seen a few movies too,

    Surrogates with Bruce Willis was an interesting concept, though I don’t think it ended up living up to its potential.

    Fame was the worst movie I’ve seen (in the Theater) in as long as I can remember.

    Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs. We took the kids to this one, it was surprisingly awesome. I laughed so much, more so than in any movie since Pinapple Express. If you havent seen it you better add it to your list. It’s not necessarily a Theater must as I think it will translate fine to DVD, but it should at least be on the top of the list to watch on a day when you really just need a light hearted comedy.

    Going to see where the wild things are Saturday at the IMAX.

    Also I just got to see Trick ‘r Treat now that its finally been released on DVD. What a great movie. There hasn’t been that good of a Halloween classic since the early 80’s. It reminds me of a segemented show like Tale from the Crypt only without the silly Crypt Keeper.

    • 3 Brandi Sperry October 13, 2009 at 8:32 pm

      Oh! Thanks for telling me Trick ‘r Treat is out now! I missed that. It is now at the top of my Netflix queue.

      Enjoy Where the Wild Things Are at IMAX. It will look resplendent, I’m sure.


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


