I’ve got it!

As some of you know (because you were there), I saw Drag Me to Hell last night. I liked it quite a bit, but my super-Sam-Raimi-excitement just wasn’t entirely fulfilled. Now, I concede that I built it up quite a bit in my head before seeing it, but I still thought so much of it lived up to the hype: the crazed atmosphere, some legitimately funny parts, several bits that had me covering my eyes, and an incredible final scene. Unfortunately, something about Alison Lohman’s performance kept me from really loving it. Afterwards I complained about her, but couldn’t quite put my finger on what bugged me so much. Today, I figured it out.

They should have cast Jess Weixler, of the delightful, twisted horror gem Teeth. That’s what I wanted, that almost-over-the-top, willing-to-go-for-the-crazy-eyes, no-holds-barred kind of performance. Lohman was pretty good, but not that good.

Still, see the movie. It’s freaking fun. I anticipate its arrival on DVD in time for Halloween and expect we could make up a great drinking game to go along with its viewing.

Unrelated: The Tonight Show with Conan O’Brien starts tonight!!! I will be staying up past my bedtime to watch.

3 Responses to “I’ve got it!”


  1. 1 patty June 1, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    jess weixler! you’re right, she would’ve been amazing in that role.

  2. 2 Brandi Sperry June 1, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    According to imdb, Ellen Page had to drop out for scheduling reasons. Interesting, though I’m thinking ultimately she might have been too scrappy and/or snarky in the role. Hard to say. I do like the idea of her in horror in general, though.


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


