Toppest Chef?

We’re in the home stretch of this year’s regular TV season (Lost finale one week from tomorrow, oh I don’t know if I’m ready yet to go months upon months without new episodes…), which means that it’s not too early to start pondering what new shows we’ll be offered to fill the gaps this summer. So far I’m most intrigued by Top Chef spin-off Top Chef Masters. Instead of featuring up-and-comers, the contestants will be already “world-renowned” chefs, many of whom have served as guest judges on Top Chef before (including that one guy with the dumb long hair and sideburns that I always mock). Intriguing, eh?

Apparently, this is how it will work: for the first six episodes, four chefs per episode will compete, with one winner. Then the winners of those six episodes will carry out the remainder of the competition the traditional way with one person eliminated each week. And, the chefs will all be playing for charity, which is always neat.

Over at Bravo’s site you can read more about it and see bios of the 24 contestants, the new judges, and the new host (whose eye makeup kind of scares me). Unfortunately, Tom Colicchio is nowhere in sight. Can any sort of Top Chef work without his awesomeness? We shall see on June 10.

As a side note, if you’re wondering what’s up with some of the former contestants of Top Chef, this New York Times piece from a few days ago is quite interesting.

2 Responses to “Toppest Chef?”


  1. 1 Emily May 7, 2009 at 10:09 am

    So I haven’t watched a single episode of Lost yet this season. I have the last disc ever of the Wire in my apartment now and will watch it when I’ve regained some mental clarity (lots of associations with a certain someone). If you feel the need to revisit Lost in the coming months, I’m itching for a new series and a diversion!

  2. 2 Brandi Sperry May 7, 2009 at 10:20 am

    I am always down to re-watch Lost; I’m sure one I see this season’s finale I’ll want to go back and watch the whole season again from a new point of view. Sara also is a season behind so many we can do some marathon viewing soon!

    Those last eps of The Wire are pretty great. Best Lost/The Wire related quote came from the TV critic at Time: “Sayid is the Omar of Lost” (because he always pops up when you’re not expecting him and shoots someone…hahaha).


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


