Things I’m thinking about that aren’t really long enough for a post of their own

I finally saw Milk, and it really is pretty fantastic. Except, wow, Emile Hirsch bugs the crap out of me. Anyone else confused about why this guy is supposedly going to be the great actor of his generation? I feel like he’s overacting all the time. Granted, I haven’t seen Into the Wild, due to my well-documented annoyance at the overabundance of projects about angsty straight white guys who can’t deal with “society” (don’t even get me started on Fight Club), but I’m hard-pressed to believe that Hirsch is the next big thing. Josh Brolin, on the other hand…only a matter of time before he gets his Oscar.

But, speaking of next-big-things, based on Sally Hawkins’s performance in Happy-Go-Lucky, which I also watched this week, she’s got that title in the bag. What a tough role to nail, and how perfect she is. Very good film, and I think Hawkins needs to be sent a few of the scripts with challenging female roles that Kate & Cate are hogging.

And while we’re on the subject of great actresses, what the frick does Mary McDonnell have to do to get an Emmy nomination for her role as Laura Roslin on Battlestar?? Every word she uttered in the final season, up to her last scene (I’m spoiler-free, I know some of you kids haven’t caught up….but seriously do, it was such a fantastic ending….I laughed, I cried….I’m barely keeping myself convinced that it wouldn’t be a good use of time to start rewatching the series from the beginning right now) was nothing short of phenomenal. She and Edward James Olmos together are extraordinary. Really, the whole cast pulled out all the stops for those final hours. What a truly brilliant group of actors, on a truly brilliant show.

Another show flirting with real brilliance: Big Love. I’ve been a huge fan since episode one, but the last two episodes of season three took things to a new level. The intricate, dramatic plotting combined with the continual character development makes for a deeply satisfying experience. I implore you to get the DVDs.

And now I’m wondering, what should I start watching on DVD? Lately I’ve been wanting that satisfying feeling of zipping through a new series, like I had when jumping on the Battlestar boat halfway through, or devouring The Wire in only a couple of months. Thoughts? Maybe The Shield? Anyone have any other recommendations?

11 Responses to “Things I’m thinking about that aren’t really long enough for a post of their own”


  1. 1 patty March 26, 2009 at 10:59 am

    if you decide to rewatch bsg, mind if i join you?? all the episodes i’ve watched, i’ve watched alone and it would be nice to hear what other people think on specifics. :)

  2. 2 cello85 March 26, 2009 at 11:05 am

    you were annoyed with Fight Club? Thats probably one of the top 25 movies ever!

  3. 3 Brandi Sperry March 26, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Yeah, I might not be able to resist for long. But you’re not allowed to join in if you haven’t finished the whole series! I will not be blamed for giving something away.

  4. 4 Brandi Sperry March 26, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Fight Club is deeply misogynistic–and not in an interesting way–and much less clever than it thinks it is. I say this as someone who is, overall, a David Fincher fan.

  5. 5 Rebecca March 26, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Venture Bros.! It’s an easy and entertaining watch but engaging on enough levels that you don’t feel silly for watching it.

    VB season three just came on on DVD, on the same day Andy Richter Controls the Universe did. Ooh, so maybe a review of Andy is up first?

  6. 6 Brandi Sperry March 26, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Venture Bros go on the comedy to-do list for sure. Disc one of Andy arrives at the apt tomorrow! I hope it holds up to the memory…drunk cat in the ceiling, hee hee.

  7. 7 Aaron March 26, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Into the wild is actually pretty good, but I do agree with you, i really have no idea why people think he is so great. If your looking for a show that goes down easy and quick, I suggest The Secret Life of the American Teenager on ABC family. The kids may be in highschool, but I think the relationships between the characters are actually really great. There are some good potential actors in there, even though I find the main girl pretty annoying. But Molly Ringwald is the Mom! Also I’m stuck on greek. Its purely a guilty pleasure, but between Greek and the Hills, ive kind of gotten into guilty pleasures. I watched all 4 seasons of the hills in about a month. Those cat fights are out of control

  8. 8 Chelsea March 26, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    I’m seriously considering rewatching The Wire. After getting a taste the other night, I want to see them all again!

    And I agree about Fight Club. Yawn.

  9. 9 Brandi Sperry March 26, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    I’ve read a couple reviews of Greek that said it’s actually a fun little show. I shall add it to the list.

  10. 10 Sara April 4, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Have you seen Dead Like Me? It’s a cute show about soul collectors. I have both season if your interested.
    What about Rescue Me? The first 3 seasons are up on Hulu now. It’s not a bad show.

  11. 11 Carly May 8, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    ok, i said it on another post, but i’ll say it again here since this is where you actually asked for recommendations; TWIN PEAKS!!! i want to talk about it with yoooooou. Also, can you hold out on rewatching BSG till I’m back in town?! i would soooo be down for that, and it’s less than 2 months away! you know i’d make a nice sound-absorption body-mass for patty’s viewing shrieks. huh? huh?


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


