Countdown, countdown, countdown.

Let us not mourn too long the cancellation of poor Pushing Daisies, or dwell on the long stretch of time that stands between us and new seasons of Mad Men and True Blood. Let us not think of the dreary landscape that is TV in December, or moan about the strange goings-on of Grey’s Anatomy.

Let us look forward.

Forward to January.

To a five-day stretch in January when you might not want to stand too near me, lest my brain explode all over you when it can’t contain all the awesome.

Friday, January 16: premiere of Battlestar Galactica season 4.5. Otherwise known as the final ten episodes. Oooooohhhhhhhmygod ohmygod. I CAN’T WAIT TO FIND OUT HOW IT ENDS. I literally sobbed my way through the last fifteen minutes of the midseason finale, for like nine different emotions. I refuse to watch the promos or read anything that might be remotely spoilery or even read other fans’ theories about what all the clues might be pointing to. But here’s a quote from James Callis (Gaius effing Baltar): “I don’t think anything could prepare you guys for what happens at the end. We weren’t prepared….There is something operatic about the ending of the show, only in the sense that it’s like a full orchestra. Imagine every single person in the cast represents an instrument, and you’ve heard their theme or fugue. And then all the instruments play together. Everybody involved in this thing together—it’s like the ‘1812 Overture.’ Not only have you got all of the violins and the flutes, you’ve also got the flipping cannons they brought off Napoleon’s ship, blowing off the roof. It’s going off with a bang, this thing….Honestly, you can’t be disappointed.”

EEEEEEEE!!!!

Sunday, January 18: premiere of Big Love season three. Possibly the most underrated show in HBO history, this sprawling story ramped things up so much in season two that when the writers’ strike delayed what was supposed to be a summer premiere for the new season, it was worse for me than when we used to have to wait over a year for new episodes of The Sopranos. Every member of this cast is full-on exceptional. Every storyline both surprises and follows a path of dreaded inevitability. This show is filled with more passion and violence and insight into human needs than I ever could have expected from what sounded like it should have been just a suburban melodrama. You have time to Netflix it before January! I will let you watch at my house if you don’t have HBO! And I can’t stop watching the teaser trailer they’ve been showing….tingles every time.

Wednesday, January 21: premiere of Lost season five. Wasn’t season four breathtaking? Seriously, seriously, didn’t it blow your fricking mind? And isn’t there a SHIT TON OF STUFF going on? They’ve got two seasons of 17 episodes each to wrap up the whole damn biscuit, people. You better believe that every episode is going to be incredible. I can tell you right now that I’ll be spending a good portion of my holiday vacay re-watching all of season four (on DVD this Tuesday, coming to a Christmas tree near me on December 24th). And then it will be time to bask in the glory of new adventures on the island once more….wherever it may be.

JANUARY!

1 Response to “Countdown, countdown, countdown.”


  1. 1 Formica Dinette December 4, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Pushing Daisies is over now? Good timing since I just decided to quit watching it. Maybe I will see the last one in that case. I think I want to start watching Heroes since I was watching this season for awhile!


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


