Top ten TV-related things I’m thankful for this year.

10. Jim Parsons: for bringing to life Sheldon Cooper, the stand-out character on the uniformly stellar The Big Bang Theory, and delivering the following lines: “It’s very simple. Scissors cuts paper, paper covers rock, rock crushes lizard, lizard poisons Spock, Spock smashes scissors, scissors decapitates lizard, lizard eats paper, paper disproves Spock, Spock vaporizes rock, and—as it always has—rock crushes scissors.”

9. Aaron Douglas: for his portrayal of Chief Galen Tyrol, the character who most breaks my heart on my beloved Battlestar Galactica.

8. Mad Men season two, episode five, “The New Girl”: for the revelations about the connection between Peggy and Don, for great ironic use of “Theme From A Summer Place”, and for the line that currently adorns the header on this site: “This never happened. It will shock you how much it never happened.”

7: Netflix: for allowing me to watch all five seasons of The Wire over the course of a couple of months, and to follow that up with a dessert of season one of Gossip Girl.

6. Tim Gunn: for being Tim Gunn.

5. True Blood: for the theme song, for the insane characters, for how fun it is to imitate Bill’s voice, for ending an episode mid-scream and starting the next one with the rest of it, for giving me plot twists I genuinely did not see coming, and for hot vampire sex.

4. DirecTV: for being far more reliable than Comcast, for being cheaper than Comcast, and for channel 101, which is currently airing the third season of Friday Night Lights, allowing the producers to put together a truly remarkable (probable) send-off for some characters I’m way too attached to.

3. How I Met Your Mother: for the Intervention Intervention, for letting the ladies be as crazy and funny as the guys (see: super-Canadian drunk Robin), and for the list of 50 reasons to have sex (19, 23, 39 and 48 are my faves).

2. The entire concept of flashing back-and-forward: for letting Lost exist in the first place, for the way the Sun and Jin storyline is coming together, and for Desmond’s episode “The Constant”, which I watched three times.

1. Supernatural: for getting even better with every season, for the disturbingly bad-ass angels, for the hilarious episode where Dean gets a sickness that makes him scared of everything (“Sam, I’m not gonna make a left-hand turn into oncoming traffic, I’m not suicidal!”), and for the general sizzling hotness of Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles.

7 Responses to “Top ten TV-related things I’m thankful for this year.”


  1. 1 Emily November 25, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    I think the Sun and Jin episode made me cry. Damn you, Lost!

    Can I watch True Blood with you sometime?

  2. 2 Emily November 25, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    And #23 is at the top of my list as well. I also enjoy 35, 48, and 49.

  3. 3 Becca November 25, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    Who doesn’t love some cargo short-calves? And yes, imitating Bill (…”SOOKie!”) with your eyebrows furrowed and your chin down is more fun than it should be.

    Here’s my thankful TV list:
    1. The fact that we have a DVR
    2. Kristen Wiig, for Target lady, for her Gloria Swanson, for Aunt Linda’s movie reviews, for being so awesome in general
    3. Skins, for proving that teenage drama can be layered and subtle
    4. The nekkidness of Jason Stackhouse on True Blood and Oliver Queen on Smallville
    5. Come to think of it, Smallville itself, for providing an exercise yard for our snark
    6. The relationship between John Barrowman and James Marsters’ characters on Torchwood (I cite, specifically, the makeout-session-followed-by-fistfight)
    7. Discovering and watching the entire original Life on Mars
    8. Stacy and Clinton–nuff said
    9. Reaper, for its humorous and humble take on Buffy-type material, and also for its Ken Marino/Michael Ian Black gay demon couple
    10. Moments that were so awesome we’ve had to rewind and watch them again in True Blood, specifically, the “untoward” comment and Sam’s aside about how he wishes Buffy would come to Bon Temps

    I’m sure there are more…

  4. 4 Brandi Sperry November 25, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Emily: True Blood had its season finale on Sunday, but I will be glad to re-watch with you when the dvds come out.

    Becca: EXCELLENT list. I second every item, especially #6. That scene makes me say “I’ll be in my bunk.”

  5. 5 patty November 26, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Can I come watch True Blood, too?

  6. 7 Not Sara November 29, 2008 at 2:42 am

    I should probably get going on #38… no time to put another flag in the slut map like the present…


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


