TV thoughts of the day

I’ve just realized that I have no Tuesday shows. Every show that’s on tonight I’ve either given up on (Fringe, 90210), actively hate (House), couldn’t care less about (The Mentalist), or, at best, like well enough but don’t consider must-see (Privileged). It’s a bit odd, actually.

However, there is some recent news that might mean I’ll be giving 90210 another chance sooner than I had anticipated. They’ve just hired a new executive producer to be put in charge of the writing room, and they aren’t messing around: it’s Rebecca Rand Kirshner. Think the name sounds a bit familiar? She worked for years as a story editor and writer on Buffy the Vampire Slayer, jumping over to write and produce on Gilmore Girls after Buffy ended. Her impressive list of credits includes scripts for three particular TV episodes that are among my all-time favorites: “The Diary” from Freaks and Geeks, Buffy’s “Tabula Rasa” (one of the funniest of the entire series), and one of the best-ever episodes of Gilmore Girls, “Emily Says Hello” (which features a punch-you-in-the-gut final scene that I still think about on a regular basis). This woman is just a flat-out great writer, and one who’s proven time and again that she can write quality dialogue for teenagers. I’ll definitely be tuning back in to 90210 in a few weeks, once she’s had time to exert her influence over the mess. I want it to be a good show. I really do.

But, for the immediate future my Tuesday nights are TV-less. Which is fine, actually, since the TV-focused part of my brain is busy freaking out about how FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS STARTS TOMORROW!!

I’ll be wearing my Dillon Panthers T-shirt.

1 Response to “TV thoughts of the day”


  1. 1 Rebecca October 9, 2008 at 12:40 am

    On the BBC, they evidently still refer to the Tuesday 7 PM slot on BBC Two as “the Buffy slot.”

    A fun fact to know and tell.


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


