Brief ramblings about a great man

Once, I was in the same room as Paul Newman. It was for a Democratic Party fundraiser when I was 17. I was maybe thirty feet away from him when he gave his speech. For a girl as obsessed with classic Hollywood as I am, that was a pretty big moment. I wish I’d had the guts to try to talk to him afterwards. Maybe it would have been amusing for him to hear a crazy teenager blather on about how amazing he was, and how much I admired him.

I have a picture of Paul Newman on the front of my wallet. It’s not this picture, but it’s from the same era and equally as lovely. I love putting on my aghast face whenever someone doesn’t recognize who it is immediately. How can you not know Paul Newman, quite possibly the most attractive man to ever live, not to mention one of our great Hollywood legends? Besides being a brilliant actor, he seemed like a truly nice person, who spent more of his time and energy on helping people than on working and who had been married to the wonderful actress Joanne Woodward for fifty years.

When I called my grandma yesterday to commiserate over his death, she talked as if she had known Newman and Woodward. She fretted over how his widow would get on, wondering if Joanne would feel the same things she had when my grandpa died after almost that long of a marriage. Those types of feelings are why it’s so hard when a famous person you admired dies. You didn’t know them, but that hardly matters if you feel like you did.

Thanks, Paul, for all the good deeds and the great films.

2 Responses to “Brief ramblings about a great man”


  1. 1 patty September 29, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    :(

    he seemed to have a heart big enough to swallow the world. i wish more people were like him.

  2. 2 Electronic October 1, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Да уж. В этом блоге хоть комментаторы вменяемые А то пишут обычно в коменты чушь всякую.


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


