In September, TV is a way of life.

Premiere month continues to roll along, serving up shows faster than I can watch them. Here’s a round-up of what I’m thinking so far.

NEW SHOWS:

1. 90210. So, the second episode was pretty dismal, ay? Family fricking bowling night? No Jessica Walter to be seen anywhere? I mean, the first episode wasn’t exactly brilliant, but it was fun to watch. This one was half the length, but didn’t feel like it. All the story beats, from Naomi’s confrontation with her mom over her dad’s cheating to Dixon discovering Silver’s troubled home life, were utterly predictable. My opinion may also be colored by the fact that I have finally gotten around to checking out Gossip Girl, and fairly devoured the first four episodes on DVD (thank you, Aaron, for telling me I should be watching). It’s got all the ridiculous soapiness I want, but with much more clever dialogue and slightly more original plot twists. I think I’ll break from 90210 during the next few jam-packed weeks and check in with it again later to see if it’s gotten itself together. I demand more scandal, more wit, and more Jessica!

2. Privileged

I did end up checking out this entry in CW’s army of bratty rich bitch shows, and it was reasonably cute and clever. Joanna Garcia as the lead is like one part Ally McBeal, one part Rory Gilmore, and one part Mary Richards. She’s truly charming, but the rest of the show isn’t intriguing enough to earn a “Record All” setting on the DVR. This will be a show I’ll check in with when December repeats mean there’s nothing else on.

3. True Blood

Um, love it so far. It’s funny, gross, scary, sexy, and violent all at once, combining elements from standard genres (supernatural/vampire, Southern Gothic, small town comedy) in a fresh way. Anna Paquin is marvelous in the lead as the spunky, stubborn, almost-wholesome mind reader Sookie Stackhouse. She passionately defends vampire rights (in the wake of the development of perfect synthetic blood, the vampire community has “come out”), though she has never met one…until, conveniently, a tall, dark handsome stranger enters the bar where she works. Her attraction to the vampire Bill—a character that seems pretty one-note in the first episode, but who comes into his own in the second—stems mostly from the fact that she can’t hear his thoughts. He sees that she is different from other humans, but there’s also a more primal attraction on his part (not too surprising, what with him being a monster and all). When they first embrace, he tells her “I can smell the sunlight on your skin”….half with admiration, half with anguish. It’s like the grown-up, non-scarily obsessive version of the Edward and Bella relationship in the Twilight books. (Tangent: I’ve only read the first one, but geez those books send a bad message to teenage girls. Stay with a guy, even if there’s a chance he’ll kill you at any second, a fact which he freely admits. Love is obsession and it is better to die than to lose it. Because we don’t have a problem with women staying in abusive relationships in our society or anything like that, Stephenie Meyer. Jesus.)

Anyway, this show is great, and my apologies to my non-HBO-having friends that I didn’t save the first episode for you. No room, no room! It really is worth dropping the 13 bucks a month to subscribe, though. Or you can just stalk me on Sunday nights to see what time I’m going to watch.

Also, stellar opening credits:

4. Fringe

The satellite dish got cranky and ate about a half hour of this two-hour premiere last Tuesday, so I just re-recorded the encore of it on Sunday. The reviews seem good; I look forward to catching up later this week. I do love me some Joshua Jackson, so I hope I like the show enough to make up for my still-significant annoyance that the writers’ strike kept him from doing a recurring role on Grey’s Anatomy like he was supposed to.

RETURNING SHOWS:

1. Entourage

So far, so better than last season, though I wasn’t really one of the people who thought last season was terrible. I do prefer the direction of these first two episodes, though, with Vince and Eric closer to being back to their old, non-awkward friendship, and Vince finally waking up to the reality that maybe this Hollywood stardom thing isn’t such an easy status to maintain. The conversation between him and Ari in the second episode, when Ari admits that he doesn’t necessarily think Vince is a good actor, just a good movie star, finally addressed something the show has always glossed over. Will we actually be seeing real growth in Vince’s character this season? If so, the show could be up to its old season two level of greatness pretty quickly.

2. Saturday Night Live

Michael Phelps was, predictably, not a great host (I look forward to James Franco next week), and besides the opening skit with Tina Fey as Sarah Palin, most of the night was a let down. The cast did not seem like they were really in the groove. It was like they were truly thrown off every time a gag didn’t get a big laugh, never moving on as quickly as they should. But I do always love seeing Kenan Thompson as Charles Barkley, and I liked new cast member Bobby Moynihan. The random skit at the end with him as the bad pizza place waiter obsessed with how much he thinks it smells like pepper made me laugh out loud more than the rest of the show combined.

3. Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles

Last season, for some reason, this was that one show that always seemed to stack up four episodes on the DVR and require a Saturday morning catch-up marathon. And, um, looks like it might be that show again this season, since we’re two episodes in and I haven’t watched it yet. I totally will though! I hear the new evil Terminator is supercoo!

So that’s that for now. This Thursday Smallville and Supernatural start (SO excited for Supernatural); next week it’ll finally be time for How I Met Your Mother, The Office, and Grey’s; and the week after that I’ll be waiting for The Amazing Race, Friday Night Lights (this one I WILL save for any non-DirecTV folks who want it, speak up now), Pushing Daisies and Dirty Sexy Money. And, honestly, I’ll probably give Private Practice another chance even though it was kind of sucky. I just like Kate Walsh and Tim Daly so much!

P.S. Mad Men, now eight episodes into its second season, outdoes itself every week. Incredible, incredible, incredible. The very essence of why I love TV so much. It better get that Emmy on Sunday.

2 Responses to “In September, TV is a way of life.”


  1. 1 Chelsea September 16, 2008 at 11:40 am

    You read Twilight already?? You move fast, Sperry.

  2. 2 patty September 16, 2008 at 11:53 am

    awww, true blood is like an homage to that episode of buffy where she goes crazy being able to hear people’s thoughts and angel is the only one who can be in the same room with her! (by the way, we are going to dominate this trivia night.)

    i “watched” the second episode of 90210 on mute. am i the only one who finds jessica stroup’s body absolutely appalling? how is she even able to stand up without her legs snapping off? EAT SOMETHING!


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


