Emmy nominations eve!

Every year I tell myself not to care about the Emmys, and every year I do anyway. In fact, my thoughts about last year’s nominations made up my very first post in the “rant” category! Hopefully I will have less to complain about this year, especially if the hypnotic, succulent series Mad Men gets a lot of recognition, as it is expected to. The show follows the men and women who work at an ad agency in 1960, and everything about it is pitch perfect. Sadly though, I am the only person I know who watches. But there’s something you can do about that! Start watching! Season one is out on DVD now (in a sweet box that looks like a big Zippo lighter), as well as on demand for Comcastys. Or you can watch a marathon of the whole thing this Sunday on AMC, starting at 9:00 AM. So many options! Pick one and go with it before the season two premiere on July 27th! Because you really shouldn’t be depriving yourself of a series with dialogue like this:

2 Responses to “Emmy nominations eve!”


  1. 1 Mom July 16, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    I watched all the episodes Brandi, and I loved them. I would definitely recommend this show. But whew, can anyone say, sexual harassment lawsuits just waiting to happen? These shows made me sooo thankful to Women’s Liberation. And the non-stop smoking? Let’s all take a deep breath of clean fresh air.

  2. 2 Emily July 18, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Isn’t that the chick who played Saffron in Firefly? And where’s that other girl from?


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


