Friday, part two: things that made me happy this week

1. The post-strike return of How I Met Your Mother.

“Hey Lil, FREE NAIL!!”

“He seemed polite…he had courtly Southern manners…”

“It’s not cheating if her name has two adjacent vowels!”

“And that’s also how the sport of Apartment Roller Luge was invented.”

I don’t even mind too much knowing that Britney Spears is guesting on this Monday’s episode, because, firstly, I wouldn’t mind seeing her get her shit together, and secondly, any publicity that might kick up the ratings for this excellent show is very welcome.

2. The news that the Battlestar Galactica prequel spin-off, Caprica, is officially in the works. Sci-Fi will do a two-hour movie with a possible series to follow if it’s successful. Some fans seem to think that the idea sounds boring or lame, but I have faith in Ron Moore and I like what he had to say to TVGuide: “It’s not action-adventure. In fact, it’s more like a prime-time soap opera set on a planet. I really like this new world we’ve created. It’s a radically different approach to the sci-fi genre.” I like sci-fi, I like soaps, I like things that take place on planets…bring it on.

3. Watching the new Wall-E trailer multiple times: 

This movie looks SO GOOD SO GOOD SO GOOD! Could those little robots be any cuter? No no no they could not!

1 Response to “Friday, part two: things that made me happy this week”


  1. 1 Emily March 21, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    I am thrilled as well! Hooray!!


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


