Friday, part one: things I didn’t want to write about this week

1. The Funny Games remake. The films are controversial, and I’ve seen the original, so I guess I should have an opinion. But my main reactions to the original were a sort of shrug at the social commentary of violence aspect, a polite nod at the acting, and an eyeroll at the breaking-the-fourth-wall gimmick. I think the most interesting thing about the movie is the composition, and since I don’t have a copy available to do any sort of screen grabs or anything like that (and, honestly, probably wouldn’t bother even if I did), I haven’t got much to say. And if I’m barely interested in my view of the movie, why should anyone else be? However, if you would like to read some other people’s interesting thoughts, I recommend these three posts over at Jim Emerson’s Scanners blog.

2. The “Who Says Women Aren’t Funny?” Vanity Fair cover article. A response to something written by purposeful-schmard Christopher Hitchens, with additional response-to-the response from His Schmardness, of course. Sure, there’s a lot to discuss about how funny women are perceived in the media and by the public, whether a woman has to be attractive to get the opportunities, etc. But really, I only have two things to say: first, trying to say that women aren’t funny is clearly just dumb (insert list of funny women throughout history here, etc etc); second, certain female comediansand you know who you arefor the love of God stop talking about your fucking periods all the time. NO ONE CARES, and you’re making the rest of us look bad.

3. ABC’s new sitcom Miss Guided. Love Judy Greer in everything she does, especially Kitty on Arrested Development (“Say goodby to these, Michael, cuz it’s the last time!”), and I’m glad she has her own show now. I’ve watched two episodes of it. I’ve been moderately entertained. Uuuhhh….yeah. Great star, okay show. That’s my whole review. I have nothing to elaborate on.

2 Responses to “Friday, part one: things I didn’t want to write about this week”


  1. 1 Kelly March 24, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Comment for the show Miss Guided- 1st. How awesome would it be to be a guidance counselor? Seriously, how awesome? Super awesome, a little bit awesome, or not so awesome? 2nd. How ironic was it that Jamie Lynn Spears was in an episode contemplating whether to go to college or not? 3rd. Best line ever about learning just as much with an open mind and a library card as a college education.

  2. 2 Brandi March 24, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I think it would be a little bit awesome to be a guidance counselor. Free coffee in the teachers’ lounge, but no papers to grade, right?


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


