Potentially the most awesome thing I’ve heard yet this year

Michael Cera=funniest young actor in Hollywood, gifted with some of the best comic timing I’ve ever had the privilege to watch.

Edgar Wright=director and co-writer of the brilliant Shaun of the Dead and indisputable masterpiece Hot Fuzz.

Edgar Wright writing and directing a project for Michael Cera=comedy bliss.

That project being an adaptation of Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life=ME FREAKING OUT OMG HOLY SHIT YES AAAAHHHH!!!!!!

Okay, I see some of you shaking your heads in confusion out there in blog land. “WTF is Scott Pilgrim?” you may be saying to yourself, and I’m not surprised. I’m actually the only person I know who reads Scott Pilgrim, which, as far as I know, even among hardcore comics fans is not that huge of a title. I only discovered it during a round of checking a lot of random stuff I’d never heard of out of the library. But thankfully I did discover it, because it is so gleefully funny and strange that I can never wait for the next book to come out.

Let me describe a bit further: the Scott Pilgrim series, written by Bryan Lee O’Malley, is set to be a total of seven kinda-manga-style comics (really only manga-esque in the size/shape/length/design of the books, and the style of the fight scenes and whatnot. Actually I don’t really know much about real manga cuz I don’t read it). So far four of the books have come out. They follow the adventures of Canadian twentysomething super-slacker Scott and his network of friends and enemies, including his band, Sex Bob-Omb. One day while going about his business of freeloading and avoiding getting a job, Scott meets and becomes infatuated with the mysterious American roller-skating delivery girl Ramona Flowers. Unfortunately, he will soon learn, in order to date Ramona he must first defeat her 7 evil ex-boyfriends. And when they say defeat, they mean Nintendo style.

It’s amazing how well the tone of the series works, bouncing back and forth between Scott trying to pay his rent and Scott suddenly harnessing his video-game-character powers to kick someone’s ass in the middle of an emo concert. Both kinds of scenes are full of hysterical lines and situations, and all of the characters are great. And the thought of watching Michael Cera be the one doing the whining and the fighting is pretty exciting.

EW’s got the story and claims Cera’s in final negotiations. I really do hope this project comes together as they have it described. And even if it doesn’t, you all should go and check out Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life anyway….it is so delightful.

0 Responses to “Potentially the most awesome thing I’ve heard yet this year”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


