Dumb name, cool service

On October 28 last year, beta testing began for a service from NBC Universal and News Corp called hulu. The idea is to provide a free online library of content from the companies’ studios and networks (this includes not just NBC and Fox, but cable networks such as FX, Bravo, USA and Sci Fi). Moderately intrigued, I signed up for the waiting list to get a password. A couple of weeks later, I got a happy little email inviting me to come join in the beta fun.

Besides current NBC and Fox stuff like new episodes of The Simpsons and Saturday Night Live and whatnot, I was pleased to see a lot of older shows: Hill Street Blues, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, Alfred Hitchcock Presents. Really cool stuff. Most of all, I was excited over the inclusion of the first two seasons of The Practice, the first show I can remember being truly obsessed with. (I know it got dumb towards the end, but before that whole nun serial killer storyline and the thing about Lindsey’s stalker, this show was incredible. Once, the power went out just as a verdict was about to be read, and I scared myself with my own rage. I think I was 14.) There are also a lot of good, random movies on the site.

And now beta testing is over and everyone can join in on the fun! It’s free, free, free, and I’m pretty sure since the strike is over and the writers are getting some money from online stuff we don’t need to feel too guilty about watching to our hearts’ content. You, too, can do as Becca did with a beta password when she was sick and lay in bed watching the first season of Doogie Howser, M.D. Awesome! (Confidential to Becca: browsing around today I found some newly added episodes of The Dick Van Dyke Show! Sweeeet. Also, hope you don’t mind me sharing that whole Doogie thing.)

Check it out next time you’re bored. I just discovered they’ve got the first season of Sliders up now, too! My nerdy side is soooo happy right now.

2 Responses to “Dumb name, cool service”


  1. 1 Becca March 13, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Are you kidding? I was so excited about Doogie I told everyone about it who would listen. Fun fact: Neil Flynn (Janitor) plays a policeman with a nifty mustache in the pilot episode!

    Dick Van Dyke, ay? I know what I’m doing this weekend.

  2. 2 Chelsea March 13, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I think the first thing I’ll watch is Attack of the Puppet People. There’s no way that movie isn’t awesome.


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


