Happy happy technology!

HBO’s ridiculously acclaimed series The Wire had its series finale this past Sunday, bringing to a close the stories of a host of impressively well-drawn characters in an impeccably realized version of Baltimore. Everyone involved in the making of this show should count it as a highlight in their career.

Oh…I’ve been watching it for a week. I’m on episode nine of season one on DVD.

I’m sure I’ll be writing a proper love letter to The Wire sometime in the future (it’s great and addicting so far and I’ve heard that it only gets better), but the point of this post is to discuss a more general topic. Shall we think about how amazing and wonderful it is that we even have the option of watching TV shows on DVD? I’m serious in saying that I feel lucky that this is possible. I’m a huge nerd for TV, I think watching characters follow their paths over a long period of time is one of the great joys in life. I also hate to join a show that’s already been going for a while. Hell, if I miss the first episode it’s usually enough for me to wait and catch up later. I’m racking my brain and I can only think of two shows I ever started midway through and kept up with. One was Rescue Me, because my mom convinced me, and the other was Gilmore Girls, when I moved in with some girls who were obsessed with it. And then that summer I went back and watched the seasons I’d missed on DVD. Two shows out of…I don’t even want to say how many shows I’ve followed strictly over the years. Let’s just say, I like to begin at the beginning.

If it weren’t for DVD, I wouldn’t be counting down the days until Battlestar Galactica comes back (nevermind that watching it one episode a week now is going to be torture). And I would never have experienced the brilliance of Joss’s Firefly. The number of shows I want to queue up in the ole Netflix account just keeps growing. Tops are Judd Apatow’s short-lived Undeclared, which I must catch up with as a Freaks and Geeks devotee, and Showtime’s Weeds, a series I’ve been told I would love by multiple people. Then there are the things I want to watch that I could never even see at all if not for DVD: Brazilian series City of Men (a City of God spin-off); Britain’s Prime Suspect, starring Helen Mirren; Canada’s Slings and Arrows and Trailer Park Boys. All shall be sampled in due time.

What I’d like now that I’ve (hopefully) gotten people thinking about how lovely it is to sit down with a few episodes of great show, is recommend one that I would love for others to start in on.

Supernatural. If you’re a Buffy/Joss fan at all and you’re not watching this, you’re missing out. Currently in its third season, the first couple of seasons play out similarly to how Buffy’s did: transitioning from monster-of-the-week storylines to a deeper mythology with ongoing storylines. The banter between the two brothers who are the main characters is as clever as anything Xander and Buffy ever shot back and forth (plus, they’re freaking hot), and series consulting producer and writer Ben Edlund also worked on Angel and Firefly (after he created The Tick, of course). I absolutely love this show and if I was rich I would buy season one for every Joss fan I know. I’ve managed to get the roomie somewhat into it, but it’s not enough! Humor me, people! Queue it up, or get in line to borrow my copy that I don’t own yet because I’m going to try to get my dad to buy it for my birthday next month (hi, Dad!). (I love parentheses. [Almost as much as I love Supernatural].)

Watch Supernatural on glorious DVD. I thank you, and Sam and Dean Winchester thank you. Or they would if they weren’t so busy trying to keep those pesky demons down in Hell.

8 Responses to “Happy happy technology!”


  1. 1 Erin March 12, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    I just put Supernatural on my Blockbuster list…. should it go above or below Lost?

  2. 2 celeberrimous March 12, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Ooooh…Lost is incredible but for you, I would say you might get into Supernatural faster. Tough call, you win either way though.

  3. 3 Becca March 12, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Isn’t it interesting to think about how much the experience of watching television has changed for us? I can recall watching the first season of “ER” on the black-and-white TV (no remote!) in my parents’ bedroom, and now the DVR just remembers all my shows and records them for me.

    I remember when Erin got those Buffy VHS tapes in high school and we all thought it was SO COOL she could watch Buffy any time she wanted. Even though they only featured some episodes (right?), it seemed like the sweetest deal ever.

    Yeah, TV on DVD is the best thing that has happened to serialists like Brandi and me in a long time.

  4. 4 patty March 12, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    i would like to submit a request to borrow your soon-to-be-acquired supernatural dvds. ben edlund?! SPOON!

  5. 5 snwinchester March 21, 2008 at 11:25 am

    heres hoping you get the dvds! if you’re as big a fan of SN as i am, its def money well spent :P

  6. 6 Aaron April 9, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    Those reccomends are right Brandy. You will love Weeds. I’m going to pick up seasons 1 and 2 on blu ray (though I already have season 2 on iTunes) since half.com has them for $20 or so a season. The show is bomb and the humor is so inteligently great. I was very sad I didnt get to see season 3 cept for one episode (three episodes in) in a crappy hotel room in Evensville, IN. But there are so many great lines.

    I reccomend throwing it up to the top of your queue. Its not nearly the investment a network show is. I believe that there are only 12 or 13 eps in a season and they are all 30 mins. you could seriously watch the whole two seasons in a weekend. And you WILL want to. If weed is a gateway drug, Weeds is my crack!

  7. 7 Erin June 21, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Not only have I done nothing for the past week but watch all three seasons of Supernatural, I’m now waiting in agony for the 4th season premiere. I hope you’re proud of yourself. *sigh*

  8. 8 Brandi Sperry June 27, 2008 at 12:16 am

    I am *very* proud of myself. How bout that season three finale, eh? Crazy stuff.


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


