Please Lord in Heaven, give me the trifecta

I gotta say, I’ve been in a sort of end-of-winter-life-is-gloomy-and-everybody-sucks kind of mood for the last few days. Luckily, somebody up there seems to be trying to pull me out of my funk and cheer me up, because lovely little things keep happening.

First, an anonymous good samaritan found my lost wallet and left it tucked into my screen door for me to find when I got home from work. Credit card, year-long bus pass, and hot picture of young Paul Neuman tucked into the front sleeve were all present and accounted for. When I called the credit card company to take the hold off of my card and told the chatty lady this swell little story, she said “Wow! You must live in a small town!” and I said “No! I live in Seattle!” and she said “Isn’t that something!” It was great. (P.S. up for grabs free to whoever wants it: the March bus pass I bought and now no longer need.)

So that was the first good thing. A ray of sunshine looked upon me, and another was about to break through. I realized I hadn’t looked in on my Myspace account in awhile, so I signed in, as people are wont to do. And lo! The first thing I see is an announcement from my favorite band and keeper of the coveted number one friend spot on my profile, the French Kicks (KICKIES, bitches!), that their new album will be released on April 1! This is sooner than I had ever dreamed! This is in what we like to call “the foreseeable future”! And they’ll be in Seattle in May! Oh, oh it shall be glorious.

And now,  a tantalizing possibility that things might go three-for-the win. The entertainment-obsessed corners of the internet I frequent so much are abuzz with what could be the last good thing needed to firmly plant me in the “Life is Awesome” camp. Nothing seems to be confirmed, everyone seems to just have their mysterious sources…buuuuut…the word iiiiis…Friday Night Lights will be back.

Rumors have been flying for weeks that NBC wanted to join with DirecTV to share the costs of producing the show and air it first on an exclusive-to-DirecTV-customers channel (that’s me! I’m a DirecTV customer!) and then encore episodes later on NBC. Now everybody and their barista seems to think it’s a done deal, though no official announcement has been made.

Please, please, please, please, let it be true. Can’t you see, Ben Silverman??? My mental health depends on it!!!

2 Responses to “Please Lord in Heaven, give me the trifecta”


  1. 1 Becca March 6, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Testify!!

  2. 2 Carly March 7, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    “everyone and their barista” – you are too much.

    LET IT BE TRUE!!!!


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


