a few post-Oscar thoughts

1. They should only take a couple of weeks to prepare every year; didn’t things feel more fresh and spontaneous than usual?

2. The Coen brothers were adorable, and so was Frances McDormand, so excited for them in the audience—I’m glad she’s finally going to be in another movie of theirs (Burn After Reading, later this year).

3. I really want to see La Vie en Rose now.

4. Loved seeing Jon Stewart wield his host powers to bring Markéta Irglová back on stage to give the speech she didn’t even get to start—he’s a class act and she is just lovely.

5. Even though I’d convinced myself to expect a Shakespeare in Love-over-Saving Private Ryan style upset with Juno, I was happy to see No Country for Old Men take the prize.

6. It’s really annoying to take second in the Oscar pool to someone who took wild guesses on every category.

4 Responses to “a few post-Oscar thoughts”


  1. 1 striderdemme February 25, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    4. Absolutely; the highlight of the night for me.

  2. 2 Tom W February 25, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Tied for second.

  3. 3 celeberrimous February 25, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    True, true, tied for second.

  4. 4 Carly February 26, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    I tied to win our Oscar pool, fueled by my unshakable faith in the Bourne Ultimatum’s technical prowess, even though I think all my acting guesses were wrong – aren’t you proud of me? the foreigners gave all the best speeches, and Keri Russell wore my favorite dress. Does Brad Bird remind anyone else a little of Joss?


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


