TCM watch, Feb 18-24

31 Days of Oscar rages on, but I’ll have to make it a light week lest my DVR turn against me. Here’s what I’ll be watching:

Ninotchka (1939) Wednesday, 1:00 PM. I really haven’t seen enough Greta Garbo movies, and this one is supposed to be very funny. Also apparently it has Bela Lugosi in it, so that’s awesome too.

The Fortune Cookie (1966) Friday, 2:45 PM. A Billy Wilder movie I’ve never seen! With Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau! (Picture me clapping my hands giddily now.)

Raging Bull (1980) Saturday, 9:15 PM. Yes, okay, I’ve never seen Raging Bull! There are a bunch of other Martin Scorsese movies I haven’t seen too. I’m working on it, leave me alone!

And the weekly recommended viewing for those with great taste (that’s all of you, right?):

Some Like It Hot (1959) Wednesday, 5:00 PM. Still one of the funniest movies ever made, if not the funniest. Certainly there has never been such a great use of men in drag before or since. Every time I watch I’m amazed that it doesn’t feel more dated, but funny is funny even after all these years.

Stalag 17 (1953) Wednesday, 7:15 PM. My beloved William Holden won his only Best Actor award for this film about POWs in Germany in World War II who suspect an informer is among them as they plot an escape. Directed by Billy Wilder…if you’re paying attention then you know how I feel about that.

The Goodbye Girl (1977) Friday, 6:45 PM. Until Adrien Brody won for The Pianist, Richard Dreyfuss was the youngest ever Best Actor for this movie (he was 29). This was written by Neil Simon, so you know it’s chock-full of clever dialogue. Also featuring one of the most ridiculous  scenes of all time in which Dreyfuss’s character, who is an actor, is forced to play Richard III as if he was the most flamboyant gay man ever to live. High class stuff.

Finally, Saturday is Alfred Hitchcock day. It is imperative that I am allowed nowhere near the television on this day, or I will end up sitting in front of it for 12 hours. But others should check it out, especially if you have not seen one of the following: Shadow of a Doubt (featuring Joseph Cotten, one of my personal faves), Notorious (but you saw that after I told you to a couple of months ago, didn’t you?), The Man Who Knew Too Much, North by Northwest, Psycho (still amazing even if you know how it ends), and The Birds (so fucking scary, clearly the scariest movie he ever made, I am now afraid of the pigeons downtown because of this movie. But see it!).

1 Response to “TCM watch, Feb 18-24”


  1. 1 striderdemme February 18, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Hope you enjoy Raging Bull. I’ll be re-watching that next week.


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


