Oh yeah, Oscars

nocountry_l.jpgI haven’t had time until now to post about the Oscar nominations, but we all know I’ve got my opinions, so here they are, a little late.

Looking at the list, I’m surprised by how not-pissed I am, in general. Usually there are at least a couple of nominations and snubs that absolutely infuriate me. The lack of recognition for the brilliant Children of Men is what did it last year (this was in the pre-blog-having era, but my rage did prompt an email tirade that had the subject line OSCAR NOMINATIONS MAKE ME MAD. I’m sure some of you received it). So sure, I’m a little disappointed for a couple of things this year, but it’s a pretty good round-up. Let’s have a look at a few categories (you can see the whole list here):

Best Picture: Atonement, Juno, Michael Clayton, No Country for Old Men, There Will Be Blood

Obviously I would have liked to see Sweeney Todd in there, but I understand that it’s freaky weird and the Academy is a bit traditional. I still haven’t seen Atonement or Michael Clayton but have been told by multiple people that I would like them (and I will definitely get to them before the Oscars actually air). I counted Juno and No Country among my top five films of the year, so that’s all good. As for There Will Be Blood…I still don’t get it, but all its nomination gets from me is a shrug.

Best Actor: George Clooney, Daniel Day-Lewis, Johnny Depp, Tommy Lee Jones, Viggo Mortenson

Best Supporting Actor: Casey Affleck, Javier Bardem, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Hal Holbrook, Tom Wilkinson

Hmm. Well, if I had it my way people would see that Javier Bardem deserves lead actor status for playing Anton Chigurh in No Country for Old Men. He could have taken Tommy Lee Jones’s spot and Jones could have been flipped to Supporting Actor and put up for that movie as well, instead of In the Valley of Elah. Quibbling, I know. I also wish Josh Brolin was in there somewhere. I’m glad to see Viggo made the cut, he was top-notch in Eastern Promises.

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, Julie Christie, Marion Cotillard, Laura Linney, Ellen Page

Best Supporting Actress: Cate Blanchett, Ruby Dee, Saiorse Ronan, Amy Ryan, Tilda Swinton

I still need to see quite a few of the movies these women appeared in, so I won’t say that any of them don’t deserve their nominations. I was rooting for Marisa Tomei to get recognized for Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead (or for that movie to get recognized, period). I wish Helena Bonham Carter was in there as well. Do we really need Cate Blanchett twice? Spread the love!

Best Director: Paul Thomas Anderson, Joel and Ethan Coen, Tony Gilroy, Jason Reitman, Julian Schnabel

Schnabel continues the seeming annual tradition of having only one slot in the directing category go to someone who didn’t direct a Best Picture nominee (his was The Diving Bell and the Butterfly). I would have liked that to go to Tim Burton.

Best Original Screenplay: Brad Bird for Ratatouille, Diablo Cody for Juno, Tony Gilroy for Michael Clayton, Tamara Jenkins for The Savages, Nancy Oliver for Lars and the Real Girl

Best Adapted Screenplay: Paul Thomas Anderson for There Will Be Blood, Joel Coen and Ethan Coen for No Country for Old Men, Christopher Hampton for Atonement, Ronald Harwood for The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, Sarah Polley for Away From Her

Look at all those chicks in there! The trendy love for indie films this year, which are far more likely to be written by women than the big-budget-boys-club projects, really helped balance these categories out. Also, LOVE seeing the sublime Ratatouille get some real credit, outside of the dastardly Best Animated Film category.

All in all, I’m okay with the Academy’s picks. Although I can’t help but think that if the great film Zodiac had been released in the fall during “awards season” rather than way back in February, we’d be seeing it included somewhere. Oh, well. I shouldn’t care so much about the stupid Oscars anyway, should I?

6 Responses to “Oh yeah, Oscars”


  1. 1 Emily January 24, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    I agree, Children of Men remains one of the most brilliant movies I have seen in years. Something that can simultaneously freak me out, make me laugh, scare the crap out of me, and fill me with dread and awe deserves far more than it got. Three cheers!

  2. 2 Carly January 25, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    I’m still pissed that Children of Men got no love too. I would have liked to see Ratatouille nominated for Best Picture – this is ALWAYS a drama-laden category, and heartwarming/funny can be just as harder, if not harder, to accomplish without hitting saccharine notes- of Juno did that as well, and charmed my socks off, but I hate that there’s always only one token “lighter” piece. Not only is that just lame, it also stacks the Best Picture and Best Director categories with male-dominated war/crime movies. come ON hollywood! and yeah – I wanted all-Sweeney awards shows…sigh.


  1. 1 Kion Kashefi Trackback on March 3, 2015 at 6:08 pm
  2. 2 Magnetic tracker Trackback on March 8, 2015 at 6:03 am
  3. 3 Covert Tracking Trackback on March 9, 2015 at 7:58 pm
  4. 4 Daren Zenner Trackback on March 9, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


