Buffy 2.0

A few months ago, I challenged you all to submit your ideas for casting a hypothetical remake of Breakfast at Tiffany’s. It was a lot of fun to read people’s suggestions, so I always meant to do it again. Little did I know that this is actually a regular activity over at the massive pop culture blog Buzz Sugarand that this week’s challenge is for the one and only Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Blasphemous! But fun! Let’s do it. (Thanks, Whedonesque, for the link that led me to that discovery.)

Post your responses here so we can argue amongst ourselves, but you should also pop over to Buzz Sugar and post there, because the winner gets a free t-shirt. Who doesn’t love a free t-shirt? I wasn’t too impressed with most of the lists already posted there (a lot of people way too old for the roles, and I don’t get the obsession with Hayden Panettiere), so give it a shot. Their rules: you must cast Buffy, Willow, Xander, Giles, and Spike. All other suggestions are for extra-credit only.

My list:

Buffy–Amanda Seyfried (Karen in Mean Girls, Sarah in Big Love). She’s 22 but easy to make look younger, still completely believable as a teenager on Big Love. Also a great actress.

Willow–Martha MacIsaac (Becca in Superbad). She’s 23 but also looks very young, and has the cute-girl-we-can-make-look-a-little-geeky vibe that Willow needs.

Xander–You’re gonna laugh, but after much internal debate I’m going with Lucas Grabeel, aka Ryan from the High School Musical movies (shut up, yes I watched them). I almost wanted to say Jesse Plemons, since his Landry on Friday Night Lights is essentially the Xander of that show anyway, but ultimately I want someone a little less world-weary, a little more slap-sticky. We are talking season one here, people. Plus I can picture him better with my first two choices.

Giles–Chiwetel Ejiofor. Excellent actor, British, able to play both stuffy and loveable, handsome but in an approachable way that would be easy to nerd up a bit. And this cast could use a little diversity, am I right?

Spike–Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Why? That‘s why.

Extra-credit:

Angel–Ian Somerhalder

Cordelia–Rachel Bilson

Anya–Anna Faris

Oz–Shia LaBoeuf

Tara–Evan Rachel Wood

Dawn–Ivana Baquero (the girl from Pan’s Labyrinth…she’s 13 now but would be a good age come season five…wow, I am putting way too much thought into this. Time to stop.)

Your turn!

4 Responses to “Buffy 2.0”


  1. 1 patty January 18, 2008 at 11:58 am

    this is too hard! when i try to visualize someone else playing the parts, i can’t help but see the original cast. the dynamic between giles and the chip-ridden spike? i don’t believe any other actors could’ve pulled that off. i have some thinking to do….

  2. 2 Becca January 18, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    I think my favorites of yours are Chiwetel Ejiofor and Shia LaBeouf – good call. And you’re right…most of those other lists blow.

    That said, mostly I don’t have the brain to make those kind of jumps. But the one that maybe comes to mind is David Tennant, the current Dr. Who, as Spike. He might make a more neurotic Spike, but it could be really interesting. Especially season seven crazy basement Spike.

  3. 3 Becca January 18, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Whoa, as I catch up on my Whedonesque, I see that on the 17th, Tennant “reveals his love for all things Firefly and Serenity in the latest issue of Doctor Who Magazine.” What a happy coincidence.

    And there’s a Doctor Who magazine? Jeez. Remind me never to get caught up in that narrative, I’d never escape. Though now that I’ve found out Marsters is on Torchwood, I might have to make an effort…guh!

  4. 4 Carly January 21, 2008 at 10:08 am

    I’m having a hard time getting past the blasphemy part. Also, I am woefully behind on teenaged actors, so my list would probably just work through the FNL cast. But I’m thinking…


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


