Things that made me happy on reality TV last night

1. This avant-garde dress, made by my two favorite Project Runway cast members, Chris and Christian:

runway-dress.jpg

Is there some sort of space opera happening anytime soon that I could wear this to?

2. This bad-ass coat, made by the two most passive-aggressive Runway cast members, Jillian and Victorya (side note: Jillian! Victorya had immunity, you should have said “No, bitch, I get to be team leader, there are no stakes for you!” I cannot freaking believe you agreed to flip for it):

runway-jacket.jpg

I’ve come up with my Halloween costume: futuristic Scottish punk vampire hunter!

3. Drew Poppelreiter on American Idol, clearly the most adorable creature in Dallas:

drew.jpg

He sang “Check Yes or No” by George Strait! I love that song. I yelled at the TV when they didn’t let him get to the chorus. Then, even though I was trying to get through the two hour recording in under 45 minutes, I rewound to watch the segment of him at his family farm riding around on a tractor again. Hot.

5 Responses to “Things that made me happy on reality TV last night”


  1. 1 Carly January 17, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    ok I loooove that black/plaid trench (what better in traditional rainwear than to make it a) not remotely waterproof and b) long enough to drag through puddles) but it’s a TOTAL alexander mcqueen ripoff and if none of the judges pointed that out they should all have their credentials stripped.

  2. 2 Becca January 17, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    I love that Mississippi boy. He’s so delicious.

  3. 3 patty January 18, 2008 at 11:50 am

    i’m pretty disappointed in this season. it wasn’t until the hershey store episode that i felt any of the designers did anything creative. it’s been so boring! every time i see that HAG victorya, i want to spit! and christian! he’s so fucking arrogant! sometimes he’ll get a chuckle out of me, but after the prom dress episode, he just let me down. you can’t have an overblown head one second then want to give up the next.

    and i miss jack. that’s the biggest reason i don’t like this season.

  4. 4 celeberrimous January 18, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    I love Christian, I think he’s hilarious. If I was dealing with him in daily life he’d probably get old, but as a character on TV I’m totally on board. I think he’s quite talented too.

    I agree that Jack is missed, I hope they bring him back next season. It’s not fair that he had to leave. Given that they’ve brought back someone who was actually kicked off for another shot on a new season, I wouldn’t be surprised if we haven’t seen the last of Jack either.

  5. 5 nicky January 18, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Agreed. Loooove Christian and his arrogance!


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


