Nostalgia!

hes-a-tramp.jpgLast night, a passing comment made by Ashley referencing the Lady and the Tramp song “He’s a Tramp” abruptly drove our conversation into a delightfully nerdy debate over what each of us would rank as our top ten Disney songs of all time. Being the huge fan of lists that I am, I’d like to share mine here and see if anyone else will do the same. The rules (yes, there were strict rules):

–All songs must be from Disney’s traditional, theatrically released animated films (nothing from Mary Poppins, etc.)

–All songs must be sung by the characters in the film (we agreed that the saddest elimination due to this rule was the cute little background tune “April Showers” from Bambi)

–Any versions existing outside of the actual film should not exert any influence over a choice (so sorry, fans of Elton John or Celine Dion and Luther Vandross)

So here’s the ten I came up with, put into chronological order with a little help from Wikipedia:

1. “In a World of my Own” from Alice in Wonderland.

2. “He’s a Tramp” from Lady and the Tramp. I’ve always wanted to do this at karaoke but have never seen it available.

3. “Once Upon a Dream” from Sleeping Beauty. This suggestion caused mild controversy because the music in the film is taken from the ballet, but I say pish posh to that, I love this song. And I love Prince Phillip.

4. “I Wanna Be Like You” from The Jungle Book.

5. “Everybody Wants to Be a Cat” from The Aristocats.

6. “Poor Unfortunate Souls” from The Little Mermaid. Ursula is the second-best Disney villain of all time, behind Maleficent.

7. “Kiss the Girl” from The Little Mermaid. I almost wanted to put “Under the Sea” as well! Damn the music in that movie is good.

8. “Belle” from Beauty and the Beast.

9. “Prince Ali” from Aladdin. Bust this one out randomly and watch everyone around start doing Genie imitations, guaranteed.

10. “Out There” from The Hunchback of Notre Dame. Seriously awesome song from what I think is a highly underrated movie. I have this on my computer and I listen to it all the time.

Alright, I know a lot of you reading this are just as nerdy for Disney as I am. Confess!

alice.jpgaurora.jpgaristocats.jpg

9 Responses to “Nostalgia!”


  1. 1 patty January 16, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    those are such great songs!

    and please, if we ever find “he’s a tramp” at karaoke, will you let me do the bulldog background bum bum bum RUFF!? it’s my favorite part!

    also: although it’s not from a movie and it’s not sung by the characters, i think a shout out needs to be made for the disney cartoon, duck tales. hands down, best disney theme song ever. AWOO-OOH!

  2. 2 Becca January 17, 2008 at 12:56 am

    “He faced the galloping hordes / (a million bad guys with swords!) / Who sent those goons to their lords? / Why, Prince Ali!” I can bust out that entire song on command – thank you, King County Library System, for letting me pirate your cassette tapes.

    And no Lion King? I have to cast a vote for Hakuna Matata. Followed closely by I Just Can’t Wait To Be King.

  3. 3 celeberrimous January 17, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Duck Tales has a great theme song, but I’d go with Chip and Dale’s Rescue Rangers as the best in that category.

    “Some TIMES, some CRIMES…goslippingthroughthe CRACKS, but these TWO, gum SHOES…arepickingupthe SLACK!”

  4. 4 patty January 18, 2008 at 11:52 am

    ah, yes. sophomore year of college, we compiled a list of best disney theme songs. rescue rangers was most definitely in the top 3.

  5. 5 Carly January 21, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    ok, no cinderella loving?

    my list would need “the Work Song” (that is how Wikipedia titled it, I would have just said “Cinderellie, Cinderellie…”), and probably also “A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes”. And “So This is Love” is such a nice love song, although musically a little more complex than your average 6 yr old enjoys.

    “Baby Mine”, from Dumbo, is maybe my favorite lullaby ever.

    and I’m prone to sing “Something There” from Beauty and the Beast when i’m home alone (sorry neighbors). and “One Jump Ahead” is my favorite from Aladdin. and really, i could keep adding beloved disney songs all day, so i’ll stop there.

  6. 6 Carly January 21, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    ah shit. and “Cruella Deville” from 101 Dalmations – never ruined by a live-action remake, always fondly remembered as something Libby did not quite manage to sound evil singing.

  7. 7 Carly January 21, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    De Vil. is, apparently, how to spell her last name.

  8. 8 celeberrimous January 24, 2008 at 10:09 am

    “So This Is Love” is definitely a great song. I like that pick a lot. “Something There” is highly enjoyable as well. But I never got the big deal about “Cruella De Vil”…in fact, I’ll put it out there that I really don’t give a rip about 101 Dalmations at all. Yeah, I said it.

  9. 9 Carly January 25, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    blaaaaasphemy! actually, I just like that one song. I’m more of a Fox and the Hound girl for sad puppy stories. or shit, Oliver and Co. (not Disney, but I totally forgot how much I loved that movie until just now!) Also, I have “There Are No Strings on Me” from Pinocchio (NOT a pick) stuck on my head. I hold you responsible.


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


