Ode to an actor

Sweeney Todd is coming…tomorrow.

I am seriously excited for this movie. It’s not just because of the whole Tim Burton-Johnny Depp factor, or because of my love for all things gothic and twisted. I went from simply looking forward to the movie to actually counting down the days a few weeks ago when I finally saw a full-length trailer (don’t know how it took me so long), and I realized that Helena Bonham Carter, Sacha Baron Cohen, and Sacha Baron Cohen’s codpiece weren’t the only co-stars in the film.

Alan Rickman.

I’m pretty sure I might have actually said “Score!” outloud when I saw him.

Lord, I love that man. The utterly distinguished face, the perpetually pursed lips, the best damn voice I have ever heard. Just to hear that voice, I will sit through inane movies like Blow Dry, and actually find myself pleased to come across Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves on TV. Can’t get enough of the voice.

Of course, Rickman is also a damn fine actor. I’d love to have a chance to see him on stage sometime, since that seems to be his first love anyway, and he’s got the Tony nominations to prove it. In films he is fantastic as a villianit’s shocking how much his portrayal of Severus Snape is exactly as I pictured him when first reading the booksand as a romantic lead. His Colonel Brandon is the best thing about the already very good film Sense & Sensibility; the scene in which he paces and frets over the illness of his unrequited love, highlighted by his delivery of the simple line “Give me a task, or I think I shall run mad,” is the movie’s finest moment.

Oh, I cannot wait to see Johnny Depp and Alan Rickman on screen together. It’s going to be wondrous.

rickman-gruber.jpgrickman-snape.pngrickman.jpg

2 Responses to “Ode to an actor”


  1. 1 patty December 20, 2007 at 12:07 pm

    i love love love this post! i love alan rickman! has he ever done a film with christian bale? because if that ever happens, i may die from swooning!


  1. 1 acting credits Trackback on November 12, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


