In a world where everything you imagine is real…

imaginationland.jpgThe shite weather around here yesterday gave me just the excuse to spend the day doing exactly what I wanted to do–catch up on a backlog of random stuff recorded on my DVR. I know I am about a month behind here, but I have to rave about the highlight of the day: the brilliant Imaginationland trilogy on South Park. Equal parts cautionary tale about paranoia over terrorism, an excuse to brutally murder a lot of beloved pop culture characters, and just another story about Cartman trying to get Kyle to suck his balls, the episodes mix low-brow humor and intelligent social commentary on a level that is impressive even for Trey Parker and Matt Stone. Trying to identify all of the characters populating Imaginationland was ridiculously fun (loved seeing Mogwai from Gremlins, classic 80s toys My Buddy and Kid Sister, and my personal favorite, Orko from the He-Man cartoons, who I totally had an action figure of back in the day). The epic scale of the story was perfect, and I actually wished it had gone on longer. This could have been another South Park movie.

Last week MTV Networks and Comedy Central announced plans to make every episode of South Park available for free online next year, similar to what they have done with The Daily Show. That’s pretty awesome. Though the writers strike has me feeling a little odd about watching things online when I know writers aren’t seeing any of the profit, I also think that the more stuff that goes online and the more successful those ventures are, the harder it will be for producers to claim they aren’t making a significant profit that way. But hopefully this whole strike thing will be resolved before long, writers will get their fair share, and I’ll be able to breathe easy while I enjoy “Cripple Fight” on demand whenever I feel the urge.

If you haven’t yet experienced the joy of Imaginationland, Comedy Central is showing all three episodes in a row on Wednesday December 12, starting at 9:30 PM. Unmissable, seriously.

1 Response to “In a world where everything you imagine is real…”


  1. 1 Riley Chadderton October 14, 2011 at 7:28 am

    magnificent publish, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector don’t realize this. You should proceed your writing. I am confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


