This posting is not as nerdy as it seems, I swear.

A beautiful thing happened today. My boss walked into the office and said the following:

“So I rented the first disc of Battlestar Galactica on your recommendation…then I went back the next day and asked ‘how many can I rent at once?!'”

bg.jpgBy my count, that puts the number of people I’ve converted into Battlestar fans to seven. And my work has just begun! (Of course, I was also turned on to the show by friends…I’m hoping for an exponential effect to start.) I think I’m in danger of seeing the entire population as fitting into two categories: those who love Battlestar, and those who haven’t tried to love Battlestar yet. I only know one person who’s seen the show but isn’t smitten, and I maintain that that’s because she tried to start in the middle instead of going back to the beginning on dvd. Plot on this show gets way too dense for that sort of thing–if you find yourself asking why it seems like every other character is one of a set of identical octuplets and wondering just what kind of fertility drugs they must have in the future for that sort of thing, then you need to go back to episode one. Just a tip.

Even if you think you’re not a sci-fi person, just give it a shot. For one thing, I’ve definitely never seen another sci-fi show that is this ridiculously sexy. Thank you, gods of cable. And this is not a show about aliens, or fancy gadgets, or anything like that. It is a show about war. Everything the characters do, everything they feel relates back to that. It’s intense, and rewarding. I can’t wait for the fourth (and final) season to start in January. The good news is, that’s plenty of time for you to catch up on dvd!

In closing:

Jim: Question. What kind of bear is best?
Dwight: That’s a ridiculous question.
Jim: False. Black bear.
Dwight: Well, that’s debatable. There are basically two schools of thought…
Jim: Fact. Bears eat beets. Bears beat “Battlestar Galactica.”
Dwight: Bears do not – what’s going on? What are you doing?

Dwight had to be right about something at some point.

5 Responses to “This posting is not as nerdy as it seems, I swear.”


  1. 2 Carly October 26, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    plenty of time to catch up on dvd, except when the fuck does the 3rd season come out??!?!?! and why doesn’t netflix have battlestar on instant viewing, cause i actually want to watch again (again) from the beginning. fix it, brandi! that choreographer still asks me every time he comes into the theater, “d’you rent battlestar galactica yet?!” even though my answer has been “yes, it was every bit as awesome as you promised” for like 6 months now. the whole cast is just delicious to look at (not so much the older gents, but everyone else). and the writing. who didn’t like it? becca? becca, you can’t start in the middle, they aren’t stand-alone episodes! that’s why it’s so gripping!!!

  2. 3 celeberrimous October 26, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    Oh, don’t complain about not being able to get battlestar on instant viewing…you can’t get ANY instant viewing from netflix if you have a mac. So I pay the same amount for an inferior service. Lameosity.

    But yes, they do need to put out season three already. I need to see that finale again. Wow.

  3. 4 Emily October 29, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    I haven’t seen season 3 yet (at least all of it, caught a few episodes on tv), and amazon mentioned something about it coming out in January. Something dumb about wanting to sell copies of Razor first before they bundle it with 3.0. Fuckers. Am I going to have to preorder it and watch 20 or so episodes all in one day so I know what the hell is going on wth season 4??? I just might… Want to go in on it with me?

    And do you consider me one of your converts? You probably should. I’m obsessed. Sooo much fun!

  4. 5 greta November 7, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    proud to be one of the super seven ;)


Comments are currently closed.



Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


