Premiere season input overload

I’ve been watching TV like it’s my job for the last week, ready to judge all the new shows and welcome back my faves. So, how did it go?

MONDAY

mother.jpgHow I Met Your Mother season three premiere: Solid episode from the best three-camera sitcom on TV today. This is really a deceptively smart show; it seems like just a funnier-than-typical traditional sitcom, but the elaborate flashback structure and embrace of inside jokes make it better than the rest. Nobody believes how good it is until they see it, so just watch it already if you’re holding out for some reason, okay? Awesome points: 9/10.

The Big Bang Theory series premiere: Reasonably funny, but too many cliches. Find me new and funny ways to prove how nerdy these guys are, because Star Trek jokes are a little stale. Plus, Star Trek is cool. Potential: 5/10.

Chuck series premiere: Automatic loss of one point for making me think the delicious Matthew Bomer was going to be a cast member and then killing him six minutes in. Even Adam Baldwin’s presence didn’t make up for that. Neat premise, but could have been, I don’t know, snappier, I guess. Potential: 6/10.

TUESDAY

reaper.jpgReaper series premiere: Kinda like Chuck, but better. And hotter. And funnier. Potential: 9/10.

Bones season three premiere: For my money, the best procedural crime solving show on right now. Love the characters, love the humor, love Booth and Bones as JUST FRIENDS don’t get them together okay that would ruin everything!! Killer points: 9/10.

WEDNESDAY (this is where it starts to get crazy)

Private Practice series premiere: Not great, but not as terrible as it could have been. I like the premise and most of the characters, and I think once the forced wackiness of Addison settling in is done and some actual storylines can get going, it might end up being good. Potential: 7/10.

katee-sackoff.jpgBionic Woman series premiere: Didn’t blow me away like I hoped it would, but hot damn I loved watching Katee Sackhoff (Starbuck!) go balls-out evil as the first bionic woman. This is yet another show that might get much better once the origin story is done; I’d love to see Jamie vs. Sarah become the new Buffy vs. Faith. Potential: 7/10.

Dirty Sexy Money series premiere: Luh-uhved it! Way more than I thought I would! Now I remember how much I liked Peter Krause in the first seasons of Six Feet Under before Nate became so insufferable. And that crazy pastor is my official favorite new character of the season. Potential: 9/10.

THURSDAY (this is where it BLOWS UP)

Ugly Betty second season premiere: Henry came back!!! Yay!!! That’s all I needed. Style points: 8/10.

My Name Is Earl third season premiere: Just as much karmic goodness in prison. Mustache points: 8/10.

Smallville seventh season premiere: Clark fighting evil Clark is hot. Lana still being alive is annoying. Somebody saaaaaaave me points: 7/10.

jim-and-pam.jpgThe Office season four premiere: Eeeeee Jim and Pam are dating! Jim and Pam points: 8/10.

Grey’s Anatomy season four premiere: Huh. I liked Lexie Grey. Didn’t see that one coming. McPoints: 7/10.

Big Shots series premiere: I lasted seven minutes. Yuck. Cancelled points: 9/10.

Whew. Thanks, DVR. It’s become clear that I wouldn’t have a social life without you.

Watch Reaper everyone!

8 Responses to “Premiere season input overload”


  1. 1 patty October 2, 2007 at 9:31 am

    oh, i get it now! THIS is why you didn’t make it out to the soapbox derby until there were FIVE MINUTES LEFT. at least you look hot in only a bath towel.

    which network shows Reaper? and when is it on?

    i give the office 10/10 nipple chaffing points.

  2. 2 celeberrimous October 2, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    Reaper is on CW at 9pm on Tuesdays. You especially would really like it, Patty.

  3. 3 patty October 2, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    awesome, tonight it is then! i hope it will fill the vmars void. please don’t delete this comment because i mentioned vmars. i really did love that show.

  4. 4 Becca October 4, 2007 at 12:17 am

    VMARS forever.

    I like the shameless apples & oranges & mustaches (!) rating system. Like Kristen Wiig’s “I give this film a “Whuh-AAAA?”, it is clearly the most reflective personal system possible.

  5. 5 Chelsea October 4, 2007 at 11:44 am

    I know you wrote this before Pushing Daisies aired, but I’m adding it to the list. Loved loved LOVED it!! Everyone should watch this show before it gets cancelled (and it will because it’s too unique and good-the kiss of death in television).

  6. 6 Carly October 14, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    no FNL love? you know the New Yorker ran a whole article about it coming back and whether or not NBC will fuck it up by “fixing” it to attract more viewers. i predict they will, and the creative forces behind it will still manage to deliver something compulsively watchable.

    i,too, like your rating system. mcpoints, especially, cracked me up. although, i did not like Lexi Grey after a 2nd episode.

  7. 7 celeberrimous October 18, 2007 at 10:25 am

    FNL hadn’t premiered yet when I wrote this. Don’t worry, I’m sure I will give it plenty of love as the season continues. I’m pretty obsessed.

  8. 8 Maximus December 19, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


