She’s funny…you know, for a girl

TVGuide.com, among other sources, is reporting that Maya Rudolph is leaving Saturday Night Live (which premieres its 33rd season this weekend). Maya’s clearly been one of the strong points of the last few seasons of SNL, and I have no doubts that she’ll do other funny projects for as long as she pleases. Of course, it is sad to think of a world without her impressions of Whitney Houston and Donatella Versace, though my personal favorite moment of hers will always be that one talk show skit where she kept talking about getting her “Hie-un-dye-aye” back from her ex-husband. I still pronounce Hyundai like that whenever possible.

I think maybe, just maybe, Maya Rudolph managed to scratch her way up from being perceived as a “funny woman” on SNL to being just plain funny. The fact that women are so outnumbered on SNL baffles me a bit, especially now, considering the strength of the women that they’ve had over the last few years. I don’t think Jimmy Fallon would have been as funny without Rachel Dratch and Tina Fey to play off of, or that they’ve had a stronger recurring skit than Amy Poehler’s “Kaitlin” series (“Rick, I want to get my ears pierced because I want to look glamourouuuussssss!!”). Now with Maya’s departure, only Amy and Kristen Wiig are left.

And let’s discuss Kristen Wiig for a second. In my opinion, she’s the funniest cast member SNL has added in the last couple of years. Yes, funnier than Andy Samberg. Her delivery during the Penelope sketches is up there with Lazy Sunday and Dick in a Box as the funniest stuff on SNL in recent memory, and her brief role in Knocked Up was pretty much the definition of scene stealing. If there’s one good thing that can come from Maya Rudolph leaving SNL, it’s more potential screen time for Kristen Wiig.

Hopefully more female cast members will be added soon though, since (hard to believe, I know) there could actually be funny scenarios that involve more than two women in the same place at the same time. Crazy! And I know lots of SNL alums go on to do sitcoms, but might I suggest doing things the other way around and recruiting Sarah Chalke after Scrubs ends this year? Zach Braff gets all the attention, but she’s been the funniest person on that show for at least the last two seasons. I’d love to see what she could do in an even more “anything goes” environment. If she can write even a fraction as well as she can deliver lines and do physical comedy, it would be amazing.

In the meantime, I’ll cross my fingers that Maya Rudolph will be showing up on 30 Rock this year so that we still have a chance of seeing her brilliance.

UPDATE: So, maybe Maya’s Rudolph’s changed her mind once again about returning? Either way, I still say: 1. More women on SNL, 2. More time devoted to Kristen Wiig, 3. Guest spots on 30 Rock are awesome.

1 Response to “She’s funny…you know, for a girl”


  1. 1 Shannon January 19, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    Does anyone know what episode the Hyundai one was? I say that all the time hi-un-die-ay and my friends laugh and don’t remember the skit. I have tried to Google it to find it on youtube but no luck. Any help would be great!


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


