Double Up

This weekend I paid another $9.75 to see Superbad a second time. As I expected, it was just as enjoyable as the first time. I heard a few new jokes that I must have laughed through before, and I also had more of a chance to focus on just how well-made the movie is, and how perfectly the soundtrack works (side note: as I write this, the movie stands at #112 on the imdb top 250, which is too awesome). So, in honor of this great film, here are the other movies I’ve felt compelled to pay to see twice.

1. Toy Story 2

I’m pretty sure this was the first movie I ever paid for twice. It’s just so great. Better than the first one, and since Pixar still seems to be improving in quality, I’m thrilled to know that they’re doing Toy Story 3.

2. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

Hey, I’d like to see this one again in a theater right now. Visuals like Ang Lee does are meant to be seen on the big screen (so excited for Lust, Caution…and no, not just because the sex scenes are causing it to be rated NC-17).

3. Bridget Jones’s Diary

I believe the decision to see this movie a second time was mostly because I really wanted to see the sissiest fight in film history again. Also, I’ll watch anything with Hugh Grant in it multiple times.

4. Amelie

Partially because the first time we missed the first five minutes, but mostly because this is as close to a perfect movie as I’ve ever seen.

5. Finding Nemo

Oh, I love this movie so much. I have a friend who refuses to watch it because she is convinced that no cartoon will ever be worth her time. Someday I will strap her down and force her to take in the beauty that is this film. Pixar, I want to hug you.

6. In Good Company

This is a really overlooked movie (writer/director Paul Weitz also did About a Boy, another favorite). Topher Grace, Dennis Quaid, Scarlett Johansson and Marg Helgenberger all give great understated performances, and Malcolm McDowell is great in the satirical role of the company CEO, Teddy K. The quality of the script is what really got me though; the movie avoids every cliché I was wary of, and still delivers a very satisfying ending.

So, what movies have others been willing to pay for more than once? Admit it if you’ve got Titanic on the list.

7 Responses to “Double Up”


  1. 1 Jared September 3, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    Eeek, none. I guess my memory is too good. Or maybe it’s that my wallet is too stingy…

  2. 2 Sara September 3, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    Mmmkay, here’s my list. I saw Amelie 3 times in the theater, and I went twice to Bridget Jones, The Royal Tenenbaums, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (though I technically didn’t pay for the second time, work did, but if we’re only counting when I personally paid I can only count 1 Royal Tenenbaums since I got to see that once back in the days when I got to go on dates… before I became a nun,) (Sorry, that got ranty fast.) …ahem, and I saw Shaft and Napoleon Dynamite each twice as well. I feel like I have more to add but my Mom keeps making fun of my THINKING HARD face, so I’d better stop.

    I think a lot of my doubles I saw once and then felt like I had to bring other people to see the glory of a movie I felt was awesome and in Pied Pipering them, saw it again myself. Look at me, uncovering patterns in my behavior! Thanks, Anthropology degree!

  3. 3 patty September 4, 2007 at 9:25 am

    monsters inc and hot fuzz!

  4. 4 Emily September 5, 2007 at 9:40 am

    Land Before Time. I saw it easily a dozen times as a kid. Can’t remember anything since then…

  5. 5 Ash September 5, 2007 at 11:07 am

    I saw Titanic twice. I cried the first time and ridiculed my sister for crying the second time. Good times. I saw Harold and Kumar twice, as well. Lost in Translation three times.

  6. 6 patty September 6, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    oh, oh, and smokin’ aces

  7. 7 Carly September 30, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    I did see Titanic more than once, it’s true. I can’t help that I was 14 when it came out…


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


