Sucked In

In my very first post, I’d like to discuss a phenomenon that I’m sure has afflicted us all. You’re flipping through channels, thinking about how you should be doing something more productive, and you swear you’re really just about to turn off the TV, when you come across one of THOSE movies. It somehow makes you physically incapable of doing anything else but watching it. You are helpless against its influence. Here are the top five movies that wield their awesome power over me:

1. Tremorstremors

Kevin Bacon and a band of scrappy townsfolk versus giant killer worms? Delightful. It’s a great monster movie, campy without going overboard and I love that they’re not really trying to be heroes, they just want to get the hell out of that valley. I love unexpectedly coming across this movie just as much as I hate thinking I’ve come across it and then realizing it’s actually one of the crappy sequels.

2. A Few Good Men

I’m a sucker for a climactic courtroom scene, and this movie has one of the best. I just can’t look away when I know it’s coming. Plus, more quality Kevin Bacon action!

3. Big

Everything about this movie is wonderful. Oh my god I wish I could put on a poofy eighties cocktail dress, ride around in a limo eating french fries, and end the night by jumping on a giant trampoline with young Tom Hanks!

4. Speed

speedThis is what Keanu looks like in Speed.

That level of sexy alone is enough to capture my attention any day, and has been since I was in the sixth grade. This movie was viewed at many a sleepover back when we were all graduating from our crushes on JTT and Devon Sawa. My sister and I may also have tried to pause the VCR at the exact moment when Dennis Hopper’s head is ripped off. Ah, so many great memories associated with this fine film.

5. My Cousin Vinny

Just as funny every single time I watch it. Man, I love me some Ralph Macchio. And what did I say about climactic courtroom scenes? This one has just a slightly different tone than the one in A Few Good Men…

Probably the best day ever would be if I had nothing to do, it was pouring rain outside, and all five of these movies were on in a row.

8 Responses to “Sucked In”


  1. 1 Becca August 12, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    1. Any Back to the Future
    2. All Lethal Weapons – in order, from “will definitely watch” to “will probably watch if there isn’t a Back to the Future on”: one, three, two and four
    3. Legally Blonde
    4. Any Thin Man
    5. Blues Brothers

    Zoolander, Clueless, and Lilo & Stitch fall into Appendix A, the group that I own on DVD but will still inexplicably watch, with commercials, if I come across them.

    PS: I so rarely heart blogs…but I’m pretty sure I’m going to enjoy this one. Yay!

  2. 2 ndrwmtsn August 13, 2007 at 1:19 am

    i’m gonna check this site all the time.

    your blog voice is like you, distilled.

    how about TV shows you can’t turn off? ones you watch but always get angry at yourself for watching and then change the channel in disgust. mine? essence of emeril.

  3. 3 ndrwmtsn August 13, 2007 at 1:20 am

    i was just thinking about tremors

  4. 4 patty August 13, 2007 at 8:36 am

    clueless
    rushmore
    the sandlot
    and any cheesy romance/romantic comedy that i’ve never bothered paying money to see.

    when is amy heckerling coming out with something new??

  5. 5 Jacqui August 13, 2007 at 9:21 am

    These are the first I thought of though there may be others:

    Ferris
    10 Things I Hate About You
    Billy Madison
    Sleepless in Seattle
    Groundhog Day

  6. 6 Chelsea August 13, 2007 at 9:40 am

    1. Titanic
    2. Dirty Dancing
    3. When Harry Met Sally
    4. Pulp Fiction
    5. E.T.

  7. 7 Jared August 13, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    1. Bull Durham / Field of Dreams / The Natural
    2. Goonies
    3. The Neverending Story
    4. Red Dawn
    5. Flight of the Navigator

    So many others… I attribute the phenomenon to:
    1. Technology’s latent addictivity
    2. Nostalgia’s latent seductivity
    3. Rainy Northwest weekends
    4. Comfortable couches
    5. Marijuana

  8. 8 Nate August 13, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    Gone in 60 Seconds

    There’s been more than one occasion I’ve watched this movie twice back-to-back on TBS. It’s no Christmas Story, but it is one of the very few movies I could watch back-to-back like this on tv.


Leave a Reply

Other projects:


Downton Gabby: podcasting about Downton Abbey from a funny, foul-mouthed, feminist perspective

Quick Lit: reading one short story a day in 2015

Grand Dames: collecting sundry achievements of admirable women

The MacGuffin: archive of my days as a film critic

I love Twitter.

Archives


